to top 10 table

Best Toddler Slippers Reviewed & Rated

last updated Nov 14, 2018

Most people are born with perfect feet, yet finding shoes and slippers for growing and developing feet is not as easy as it seems sometimes. Young feet need room to grow, should never be constricted and need to move for proper muscle development.  By the time we reach the age of 65, estimates project that we have walked over 100,000 miles and as any parent of a toddler will tell you, it feels like they get 90,000 miles of that in from the ages of 12 months to 3 years old or so.

That is a lot of strolling, running, hiking, rambling and wandering.  Acknowledging this information demands that we take good care of our feet, even small ones and avoid choosing poorly fitting footwear. Issues may start to develop when our wobbly, bowlegged, cruising toddler begins those initial journeys into the world propelled by his own two feet. Choosing the correct footwear when they are young and throughout their lifetime can reduce or even eliminate the possibility of developing these problems.

We often forget about slippers as important footwear so learning about the best toddler slipper choices can help to make the best decisions when looking to buy these items. The best slippers for toddlers are all about fit, form, and function, not fashion. But if our little fashionistas refuse to put or keep them on, our efforts will not work. Luckily, today's choices for toddler slippers can meet all these requirements.

We have scoured the internet to bring you 10 of the best, most current, still adorable slipper options for your little walker (who are we kidding, they start off at a full-speed run).  Happy shopping!

Researched Sources
16
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
2095
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
14
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
18
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
By Ana Rockov:

The latest revision of this article completely updates the look so that you get easier access to the most imporant information you need in order to make a smart purchase that both you and your little one will be happy with. Furthermore, we've included some additional pieces of criteria that you'll find are quite important for the health and safety of your toddler's little feet.

Sorting Options
Traction Fit Durability Breathability By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97
Traction
97%
Fit
99%
Durability
94%
Breathability
98%
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.11.18)
$8.99
2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.5
Traction
96%
Fit
98%
Durability
95%
Breathability
97%
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.11.18)
$8.99
3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96
Traction
98%
Fit
97%
Durability
95%
Breathability
94%
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.11.18)
$8.97
4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.3
Traction
90%
Fit
98%
Durability
93%
Breathability
96%
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.11.18)
$25.00
5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.8
Traction
94%
Fit
97%
Durability
94%
Breathability
90%
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.11.18)
$17.99
6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.3
Traction
92%
Fit
98%
Durability
94%
Breathability
89%
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.11.18)
$33.95
7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.5
Traction
87%
Fit
92%
Durability
91%
Breathability
88%
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.11.18)
$34.95
8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88
Traction
96%
Fit
79%
Durability
94%
Breathability
83%
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.11.18)
$24.00
9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.8
Traction
76%
Fit
89%
Durability
81%
Breathability
85%
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.11.18)
$29.95
10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80
Traction
92%
Fit
82%
Durability
75%
Breathability
71%
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.11.18)
$11.90
In Depth Review Top 10
  • Hudson Fleece Booties
  • Hudson Baby Sherpa
  • Luvable Friends Fleece
  • BirdRock Moccasins
  • Sesame Street Elmo
  • Minnetonka Cassie
  • UGG Bixbee Boot
  • ACORN Moc
  • ACORN Easy Bootie
  • NORTY Animal Paw
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Other Factors to Consider
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

Top 10 Toddler Slippers

1. Hudson Fleece Booties

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97
Hudson Fleece Booties
Traction
97
Fit
99
Durability
94
Breathability
98
best offer for today
$8.99
Pros:

Good In and Out of the House

Toddler Can Easily Put On

Excellent Sticky Grip

Warm & Light

Super Affordable

Cons:

Run Small

Grip May Wear

Made with 100% fleece polyester the Hudson Cozy Fleece Booties with Non-Skid Bottom, live up to their name. Warm and soft these flexible toddler slippers will give feet room to grow and promote strength. They are hard to kick off and look great with a variety of outfits. Also, with the zigzagged rubber grips, your kiddo will have an easier time staying on their feet and crossing slippery floor surfaces throughout your home.

Read more

Hook and Loop Closure System
Most children prefer to go barefoot and will remove socks, shoes, and slippers by any means necessary. The hook and loop closure system help ensure these toddler slippers stay put. No amount of kicking will have these flying off. We all want to make sure our kid's little feet stay warm and the Hudson Cozy Fleece Booties will make sure that happens and you won’t have to put them back on every two minutes.

Zig Zag Grip Design
Wobbly walkers will have slips and falls no matter what. We hate to see our kids fall and get hurt and want to do what we can to help our toddler stay on their feet. The grip is extremely important in avoiding slips and falls. The zig-zag pattern offers versatility when it comes to keeping your child by overcoming quick position changes. Turning like a ballerina or a ninja requires a design that covers the bottom and moves with your agile walking toddler.

Cost and Value
The Hudson Cozy Fleece Bootie with Non-Skid Bottom is very affordable. Easily washable with great grip doesn’t have to cost a lot. Keep it simple and know that your active child will keep them on. If something happens and one mysteriously goes missing don’t sweat it. The low price tag will allow you to replace these toddler slippers with ease.

2. Hudson Baby Sherpa

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.5
Hudson Baby Sherpa
Traction
96
Fit
98
Durability
95
Breathability
97
best offer for today
$8.99
Pros:

Machine Washable

Sherpa Fleece

Comfortable Fit

Hook and Loop Closure

Non-skid Grips

Cons:

Runs Small

These cute little toddler slippers are perfect for cold floors in the winter or just running errands in the car during the winter. With a Sherpa fleece lining, Velcro closure and non-slip grips on the bottom, your toddler will be warm, comfortable and secure while running about. For such a great winter slipper, they are very reasonably priced too!

Read more

Kick Free
These slippers feature a hook and loop closure so baby can’t kick them off or pull them off while you’re out and about in the cold or while the baby is playing on cooler floors. You’ll feel better knowing that your baby’s feet are cozy and warm inside the slipper.

Non-slip Grip
These slippers feature zig-zag grips on the bottom for non-skid, no-slip security while baby runs and plays. Soft and warm, they are the perfect combination of thick, soft fleece and stable feet.

Cost and Value
These are the least expensive of the slippers on our list. For an excellent price you get warm slippers that won’t slide, are soft and comfortable for your baby and cannot be pulled or kicked off easily. They are also machine washable for when your child steps in “what the heck is this?”, as they do.

3. Luvable Friends Fleece

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96
Luvable Friends Fleece
Traction
98
Fit
97
Durability
95
Breathability
94
best offer for today
$8.97
Pros:

Superior Price

Velcro Closure

Bottom Grips 

Wash Well

Cons:

Sizing Problems

Luvable Friends is a brand we can trust in baby and toddler basics. These cute and versatile toddler slippers are warm and will stay where you put them, with a secure Velcro closure. A variety of colors and non-skid sole will make every outfit look great and keep your new walker securely on their feet. The Luvable Friends Cozy Fleece Booties with Non-Skid Bottom are sure to be a great addition to your child’s slipper collection.

Read more

100% Polyester Fleece
Warm, soft, comfortable, and washable, it must be too good to be true. We promise it isn’t, life is messy and we need to make sure we are spending our money wisely. Luvable Friends understands what moms need. Throw these in the wash and have these ultra soft toddler slippers warming your child's feet up in no time. Most adults have a favorite fleece piece and that’s because it warms us up so quickly, offer your child the same for their cold little toes.

Non-Skid Bottom
Whether new to walking or a few miles under the belt, traction is important. The individual non-skid circles on the bottom of these toddler slippers will make every step a sure step. Falling is part of growing up, but sometimes a fall can be really dangerous, especially around sharp corners or on hard flooring surfaces. Promoting good traction and the ability for your child to stay up and moving, the Luvable Friends Cozy Fleece Booties with Non-Skid Bottom is a win with moms and kids alike.

Cost and Value
When we think about the basics, sometimes we get a price tag that is anything but basic. Luvable Friends is extremely affordable and practical. The warm fleece material combined with non-skid bottom is everything you have been looking for in a pair of toddler slippers. Add to it a cost that is minimal and what you have is a win for everyone involved. Knowing how quickly children’s feet grow, this amazing price will have you coming back for larger pairs.

4. BirdRock Moccasins

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.3
BirdRock Moccasins
Traction
90
Fit
98
Durability
93
Breathability
96
best offer for today
$25.00
Pros:

Guaranteed for Life

Durable

Variety of Stylish Looks

Leather Sole

Soft Flexible Material

Cons:
  • Elastic May Be Tight

Two families caught in a normal 9 to 5 life, brought life to something they had envisioned for years. A brand that they live for and in, promises to give us high quality, toddler-friendly items. They offer a variety of ways to contact them, including, text, and email which is a type of customer service we don’t get to see every day. BirdRock Moccasins have qualified as some of the best toddler slippers because of their design, which ensures room for growing feet, and they are made of 100% genuine leather. They not only feel great they are also flexible allowing excellent development of the foot.

Read more

Every Pair Sold Feeds a Child for a Day
Giving back is not in everyone’s budget and when children are involved there is always a need for a new pair of slippers. Why not kill two birds with one stone? Buy from a company that will not only feel like family but will also give back to an amazing cause. With the help of Feed My Starving Children, for every pair of BirdRock Moccasins that are sold, a child is provided meals for a day. Giving back is important to everyone and this genuinely good cause is offered by a brand that gives quality well-priced toddler slippers among many other awesome products.

Securing Elastic Band
Children move and groove all the time. If you are constantly chasing the kiddo, to slide a slipper back on, stop. With an elastic band securing this adorable moccasin, you will find them easy to put on and be impressed by how well they stay on. It is important to note, it also helps keep your toddler safe, a slipper that slides partially off is a serious trip hazard. Save yourself time and save possible falls with BirdRock Moccasins.

Cost and Value
Made by a brand that knows $60 for toddler slippers is unreasonable for most families and have given us a top quality product that won’t break the bank. Affordable and adorable, these moccasins will promote strong feet, provide excellent comfort, and keep mom and dad’s budget happy. These are truly loved by children and families alike, give them a try and you will see why.

5. Sesame Street Elmo

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.8
Sesame Street Elmo
Traction
94
Fit
97
Durability
94
Breathability
90
best offer for today
$17.99
Pros:

Versatile Use

Faux Fur Upper

Soft, Knit Collar

Foam Footbed

Elmo or Cookie Monster

Cons:

Unlined

Available as either Elmo or the Cookie Monster, these faux fur slippers are super cute, warm and fun for your toddler. Who wouldn’t want a puppet on your feet? They have a soft collar and a foam footbed for cushioning of your toddler’s busy, busy feet. Adorable!

Read more

Slipper and Toy
In cooler temperatures, it’s a great warm and cozy slipper for your toddler’s little feet. However, slip a hand inside and it becomes a puppet for your toddler to play with. Versatile and fun for baby.

Foam Footbed
There is a foam footbed inside the slipper for extra cushion. Your toddler’s feet are super busy all day, and these slippers will keep them warm and comfortable. Nothing in the slipper will restrict your baby’s natural muscle and bone growth at the same time.

Cost and Value
These slippers are priced in the mid-range but still very reasonable. For the money, you get a slipper that can also be a toy in warmer temperatures, is warm and comfortable, has a soft collar and comes in sizes from toddler through to 7 or 8-year olds.

6. Minnetonka Cassie

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.3
Minnetonka Cassie
Traction
92
Fit
98
Durability
94
Breathability
89
best offer for today
$33.95
Pros:

Snug Fit

Easy to Slip On and Off

Can Be Worn Outside

Quality Handcrafted Construction

Durable

Cons:

Laces Come Untied

Drew Barrymore, Gwen Stefani, and Kate Moss are among the many celebrities that can be spotted wearing Minnetonka moccasins. Using quality moose hide or deerskin leather, artisans handcraft each pair to the highest standards. Your budding star will love a pair of Minnetonka Cassie Slippers. They come in a variety of colors and there is a matching adult Minnetonka Cally Faux Fur Slipper. Over time, the Minnetonka Cassie slipper will stretch and conform to the toddler's foot and wear pattern ensuring a good fit. They even come with a one-year replacement policy.

Read more

Fit and Form
The Minnetonka Cassie slipper molds to the wearer's foot ensuring a snug fit but never uncomfortable. The heal is firm but will soften over time. They are lightweight, designed in the true and time-tested moccasin shape.

Function and Style
This classically designed moccasin slipper will always stay in style. The Minnetonka Cassie slipper comes in a variety of colors and some interesting patterns. The faux fur interior keeps the toddler's feet warm but not hot and whisks away any sweat. The rubber outsole maintains its flexibility and grip.

Cost And Value
The cost for this item ranges at the high end of the mid-range priced toddlers slippers. The durability and one year warranty make them a very good value. Many consumers make Minnetonka slippers a tradition and own at least one pair throughout their lifetimes.

7. UGG Bixbee Boot

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.5
UGG Bixbee Boot
Traction
87
Fit
92
Durability
91
Breathability
88
best offer for today
$34.95
Pros:

Secure Fit

Soft and Cozy

Warm

Bottom “Grippers” 

Washable

Quality Materials and Craftsmanship

Cons:

Pricey

Stains Easily

Ugg was founded by an Australian surfer living near the shores of southern California in 1978. This company is committed to supporting philanthropic endeavors wherever they are needed. UGG is a leader, operating their business ethically, only using sheepskin that is a byproduct of the meat industry. And UGG is one of “Oprah’s favorite things”. The UGG Bixby Boot is a top quality product for those consumers who want the best and are willing to pay for it.

Read more

Fit and Form
This slipper is soft and flexible. The overall fit is excellent - there is enough room for foot and toe motion. The hook and loop closure makes it easy to dress your toddler. The outsole is made with a flexible silicon tread.

Function and Style
With a brand named UGG, you can expect up-to-date styles - that is what you get with the Bixby Boot. The hook and loop closure keeps the ankle supported while keeping the fit snug.

Cost And Value
The UGG Bixby Boot is definitely on the expensive side. These well-crafted slippers will be the envy of all your friends. If you want the best, you will pay for it, but the value outweighs the expense.

8. ACORN Moc

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88
ACORN Moc
Traction
96
Fit
79
Durability
94
Breathability
83
best offer for today
$24.00
Pros:

Indoor and Outdoor Use

Super Warm

Fully Lined

Skid Resistant Outsoles

Very Soft and Comfy

Cons:

Runs Narrow

The Moc Slipper manufactured by ACORN is the third on our list of the 10 Best Toddler Slippers for this company. There are times when you need a slipper to double as a shoe. The ACORN Moc Slipper is made with a durable and weatherproof sole, making it a good choice for indoor as well as outdoor use.

Read more

Fit and Form
The slippers fit well, except for those toddlers who have a chubby foot. Ordering a size up will fix the issue because they run a little narrow. They will eventually stretch to fit snuggly but are best for toddlers with narrow feet. The non-slip sole is not as flexible as other slippers listed here, but with outdoor use, you would require a stiffer sole.

Function and Style
The Moc Slipper by ACORN is the sturdiest made slipper on our list. The durable rubber sole has a good grip for traction yet comes with a little flex. They are very warm and are great on your hardwood floors or tiles during the winter. The slipper comes in some interesting colors and there I am sure there will be one to make your toddler happy.

Cost And Value
The ACORN Moc Slipper has different price points depending on the age and size of the toddler. In general, they are moderately priced. They come in some interesting colors and I am sure there will be one to make your toddler happy. It is a great value if you are looking for a slipper that can be used as a shoe.

9. ACORN Easy Bootie

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.8
ACORN Easy Bootie
Traction
76
Fit
89
Durability
81
Breathability
85
best offer for today
$29.95
Pros:

Washable

Easy On and Off

Keep Feet Warm

Suede Sole

Cons:

Faux Fur

This company believes it is “all about the details”. “Outstanding quality and premium comfort” has always been ACORNs’ goal. The Acorn Easy Bootie slipper has been endorsed by researchers associated with Children's Hospital Boston and Harvard Medical School. If they tell you this is a good slipper, we tend to believe them.

Read more

Fit and Form
Simple to put on and keep on, the ACORN Easy Bootie Slipper is a must have for those toddlers who need a snug, cozy and warm bootie type slipper. The faux suede sole is flexible giving your toddler the tactile feel that helps them adjust from crawling to standing.

Function and Style
The ACORN Easy Bootie Slipper comes in a large number of choices including Brown Bear, Turquoise Leopard, Leaping Lizards and Chocolate Dots just to name a few. There is plenty of room in these slippers and the elastic ankle band keeps them in place.

Cost And Value
Moderately priced, the Acorn Easy Bootie Slipper is an exceptional value for the money. And the choice of styles means you will find one your toddler will like and stop the barefoot insanity that toddlers tend to display.

10. NORTY Animal Paw

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80
NORTY Animal Paw
Traction
92
Fit
82
Durability
75
Breathability
71
best offer for today
$11.90
Pros:

Extended Sizing

Variety of Animal Choices

Padded Sole

Good Traction

Faux Fur Plushness

Cons:

Sizing Issues

Whether your toddler is into bears, tigers, leopards or dinosaurs, they will love these animal paw slippers. Fun and playful, warm and comfortable, your baby will also have good traction and they come in sizes from toddler all the way up to Mom and Dad so the whole family can join in the fun.

Read more

Padded, Grippy Soles
These shoes are great for toddlers who run all over slicker surfaces like hardwood and tile floors. Grippy dots help to prevent slips and falls and the soft, padded soles also make the slippers quiet and comfortable.

Fun for All Ages
These slippers can complete a Halloween costume or just be fun for play. Available in black bear, polar bear, three different sorts of tiger, wolf, leopard and dinosaur, your child will spend hours and hours having great fun in these slippers.

Cost and Value
These slippers are priced in the mid-range and are comfortable and fun for your toddler (and the rest of your family too). They are non-slip and quiet on floors too, which is a bonus if your toddler is an early riser.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Traction

When our kids really start moving and grooving, slips and falls can put a quick stop to the family's fun, proud moment. Making sure feet stay firmly planted on the ground across the different surfaces can be a huge challenge, not only for you but also for your little one. Different surfaces mean different types of grip, but do we really need a different pair of toddler slippers for every room? No, certainly not, we do need a slipper with superior grip strength. Slippers that can offer stability and traction from the tile kitchen and bathroom to the hardwood in the living room, and of course the carpet up the stairs and in the bedroom.

A lot of toddler slippers have no sort or grip at all, just fleece bottoms. As a matter of fact, many of the most expensive brands do not have any type of skid control. This is surprising to many. Fleece bottoms are an accident waiting to happen. Yes, they feel amazing and keep your toddler’s feet nice and warm but they are doing nothing to help your little one move around and stay on their feet. Fleece has many great properties, slip resistance is not one of them.  If you want your kiddo to wear warm, flexible fleece that’s wonderful, just make sure that it has some sort of rubber or polyurethane grip on the bottom.

All leather toddler slippers offer natural slip and skid resistance. Especially after they have been worn for a little while. While not as good as rubber, leather is still superior to fleece. It will give your child a smooth, superb feel for their little feet and help to keep them up and moving. The pliability of soft leather is amazing for growing feet and really allows the toes to grip and respond the way they are meant to.

Rubber, synthetic, and polyurethane soles are superior when it comes to slip and skid resistance. We wear these types of soles on our shoes every day as adults. However, our feet are done growing and we have the muscle memory to allow for this type of change. Toddlers have quickly growing feet, and to allow proper development you will want a slipper that is majorly pliable and flexible. A lightweight blown rubber won’t weigh your toddler down and will give them superior grip and traction, keeping their feet under them longer and farther every day.

Fit

It can be so frustrating trying to keep socks or slippers on your toddler. Socks are always sliding down during those epic moments transitioning from crawling to walking and slippers are just too easy to take on and off. Let’s not forget about the millions of children who downright refuse to leave anything on their feet. A lot of us understand the hatred of shoes, however, unprotected toes are also not acceptable.

  • Elastic - Our guide to the best toddler slippers has hopefully shed some light on the best closure systems to help your little one keep the mile counter climbing as well as keep their feet warm. Fleece is very warm and a common slipper material, add to it a band of elastic and for the most part it will stay put, but your avid mover is going to pull them right off as soon as they realize they can.
  • Hook and Loop - So, where do we go next? A hook and loop closure. The hook and loop are not only secure but it’s more difficult for little fingers to manipulate. This type of closure will help those feet stay warm and with any luck, will afford you more time to get to the mountain of clothes in the laundry room without having to chase down another wayward toddler slipper.
  •  

    It is also important to note that if you are buying your toddler slippers and you are currently fighting to keep socks on those cold little toes, make sure to avoid any type of slide on slipper. Slide ones may be great for us but a child that doesn’t like anything on their feet will never keep these on. They also come off of the foot very easily for those just beginning to walk. This can lead to slips and falls very easily.

    Durability

    Coming across any product that is built to last can be a tall order when it comes to your toddler. At such a young age, they don’t know that everything they destroy costs you money. We find it to be exceptionally important to find the best toddler slippers, that not only keep your child standing up but keeps your child’s slippers standing up to them.

    Fleece is a very durable material and is counted on by many parents. Not only will it give your child long, durable wear, it will also stand up to your washing machine. Spills and messes are a part of our everyday lives and an item that can simply be thrown in the washer saves us time and money. It also keeps our family looking great, while not breaking the bank with constant replacement.

    The thin sock-like material used for slippers, can be very frustrating. If not replacing for little holes that seem to crop up every time they come out of the dryer, you find yourself buying more because the dog decided chewing on your toddler’s slippers would be a great idea. Some sturdier cloth material can be durable, it really depends on the construction. Our guide to the best toddler slippers has given you footwear that will stand up to the test of time and toddlers.

    Breathability

    An important thing to note when shopping for any type of footwear for your toddler is that babies have yet to develop their internal temperature regulation systems, which means that they are bound to get hotter in warm weather, and colder in cold conditions. The foot, just like in adults, is a peripheral part of the body, and will often receive warmth the last, so you really want to protect it to prevent discomfort or even health issues.

    Most slippers on this list are made to keep your little one warm, and that makes them an excellent choice for cold weather wear, both inside and outside. However, manufacturers will often focus on insulation, forgetting about the fact that breathability is just as important.

    The ideal pair of shoes will be adequately warm, but will allow proper air flow so that the feet never overheat, and don’t sweat more than necessary. If your kid is active, this is even more important as they’re bound to work up a sweat.

    You’ll want to look into models that are either made with naturally breathable materials such as leather or suede, that have a high quality lining such as wool, or include some technology that will allow for warm air and moisture to escape.

    If sweat is trapped within the shoe, you may find that your baby starts developing stinky feet, which is not just uncomfortable, but can be a sign of bacterial or fungal overgrowth. The last thing you want is your little angel to pick up Athlete’s foot or an infection that will take time to cure and may even re-appear later in life.

    Expert Interviews & Opinions

    Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
    Sort criterias acording to:
    Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
    Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
    1
    Traction
    Rate This Criteria as Most Important
    2
    Fit
    Rate This Criteria as Most Important
    3
    Durability
    Rate This Criteria as Most Important
    4
    Breathability
    Rate This Criteria as Most Important
    Room To Grow

    While slippers may not be the most rigid kind of shoe, they should still have plenty of room for your young ones feet to grow into. Slippers or booties with non-slip soles are best to give that barefoot feeling without the hazard of slipping across the kitchen floor.
    Although it may seem trivial, having non-restrictive footwear that gives a feel closest to going barefoot is actually quite important in the development of your children's feet. Anything too tight worn for too long of a timeframe can actually lead to more serious foot aliments, such as hammertoe, later down the line.

    Washing Slippers And Booties

    We all know that when your child wears their favorite pair of slippers, sometimes they can get a little stale smelling. Check the manufacturer's label for the proper care technique, but most slippers made of fabric or soft textiles can easily be tossed into the wash for a freshening up. Let slippers air dry instead of exposing them to the heat from the drier to help maintain the integrity of the shoe.

    Other Factors to Consider

    Insulation

    Warmness factor is very important, especially if you live in colder climates with hardwood floors. Everyone has a different impression of what is best to keep feet warm. Any layer will be better than bare feet on cold floors but some are superior when broken down into what they can do to make snugly warm toes all day long.

  • Cotton - Natural and loved by many, cotton is an asset in most clothing items. It is soft and comfortable, it breaths but also helps keep chills off. The problem with cotton is that it is not very durable and if cold toes are a daily problem, cotton is probably not going to fix it. Better than nothing but not fit for superior warming.
  • Fleece - Fleece is a top choice for parents looking for something that will truly make their toddler’s feet stay warm. Thick and plush, it is not only durable but allows feet to warm up quickly. Fleece is very slippery and you will want to use caution with wobbly walkers, especially if there is no grip on the bottom of your chosen fleece toddler slippers.
  • Wool - Wool is probably the very best when it comes to cold feet. It naturally moves moisture away and helps insulate. Some parents stay away from wool because it can be itchy. This can be a real problem especially for children that don’t like anything on their feet in the first place. Adding a thin loose sock to wool slippers will keep the itch away but allow plenty of room for natural motion of your toddler’s growing feet.
  • Style

    We all know how picky children can be. Not only do they have their own notions of what looks good and what does not, they will also often fixate on a certain piece of clothing that they'll want to wear everywhere. If your little one is picky as well, it's likely that you'll want to make sure the item you invest your hard earned money in is actually going to be used.

    The styles listed above are all excellent choices not just because of their high quality make, but also because they are designed so as to appeal to kids. Regardless of whether you go with a fun print that features candy or toy cars, or if you get a pair of shoes that looks like your kid's favorite cartoon character, these should all work well.

    The beauty of shopping online is that you have unlimited choices in terms of styles, so you can easily opt for what you think will work best. Or you can even ask your child to help out with the choice. Just be prepared for a lengthy process if you go down that route.

    Product Purity

    Finally, it's crucial that the choice you make is absolutely safe for your child. There are several aspects that you should consider before making a purchase to ensure that the product really is a good choice.

    If you have a baby, you won't want to choose anything with rough materials that may cause rubbing or irritation. Instead, go for something lightweight, soft and, if possible, natural. Wool, fleece and even suede can work great, as long as they're not dyed with toxic colors.

    Secondly, you should check for the construction method of the shoe. Sewn is best, but make sure there aren't any exposed seams that may cause rubbing. Some kids suffer from sensitivity issues which means they will feel every ridge in the shoe, and it may cause them discomfort, which will result in them either taking their shoes off at the worst moment, or even completely refusing to put them on.

    Finally, check the closure system. Elastics and velcro are the best, as we've already mentioned, but some parents may prefer to go with buckles or laces. If you decide for these alternatives, ensure that they're 100% safe for the child, that they cannot come undone causing them to trip, or break off and be eaten or inhaled. Not only will this prevent unwanted accidents, but it will also give you piece of mind that you've gone with a product that's suitable for little kids.

    Frequently Asked Questions

    q: Are crocheted slippers safe for my toddler?
    a:

    There really isn’t a simple answer to this question, it really depends on the situation you find yourself and your toddler in. The problem with crocheted slippers is they typically do not have any grip or traction for your new walker. Made with love from your most cherished family member, I am sure they are adorable and as warm as can be. They will do an awesome job while laying down for the evening or snuggling up on the couch to watch the coveted Disney movie. When it comes to cruisin' around the house, however, you may want to look for an alternative. Like fleece, most yarns used for crocheting are very slippery, especially on hardwood floors or while traversing the stairs. You can add rubber to the bottoms to offer extra grip to avoid slips, making crocheted slippers safer and causing you less worry.

    q: Wait, I thought you were supposed to keep your toddler barefoot for growing purposes?!
    a:

    While this doesn’t really look like a question, it is common for parents to wonder what the best course of action is. Keeping your toddler barefoot does allow for the feet to learn and grow without pressure or the inability to move because of tight shoes or slippers. Many feel that cold toes are just something that is bound to happen during developmental years. It doesn’t have to be and you need to be careful. Cold feet can lead to all types of problems, from not realizing there is an injury due to lack of sensation all the way to frostbite for the toes that never have any cover.

    You most assuredly want to offer your toddler plenty of barefoot time but when temperatures drop, it’s time to find a great pair of toddler slippers. Loose, flexible, and made of something to help warm feet up quickly is really what you are looking for. The less bulk the slipper has the more the foot will naturally do the work. Add a little grip and your toddler will have warm feet before you know it while moving around, with endless energy.

    q: Why do some parents pay $100+ for toddler slippers? Should I?
    a:

    The quick answer is, we have no idea why and no. Like most things in life we find ourselves veering toward the brands we know. Part of why we love those brands may simply be in the name. It may be cool and stylish but really is it any better? Children’s feet grow very quickly and if there is room in your budget for hundred dollar slippers, go for it, but first make sure they are actually going to provide your kiddo with what they need. Our guide has offered several pairs of toddler slippers that are under $20, and they perform excellently. Not only will they help your toddler stay up and moving with good grip and traction, they will also make those cold toes disappear and stay where you put them.

    Sources