to top 10 table

Best Zig Zag Shoes For Zany People Reviewed

last updated Feb 08, 2019

Chevron has a rich history, and first got its name in the 14th century, referring to its visual similarity to building rafters. The pattern is made up of multiple v-shapes, and our favorite take on it is the iconic zigzag that has remained a popular print in fashion for decades. One of the reasons the print is so iconic is because it makes a bold statement. It can combine colors for a punchy, quirky look, or it can be a subtle layering of tones. This fun design works for all ages, all seasons, and all shoes! We can’t wait to see how you mix it up in any of our fun picks.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 22 hrs of research

icon
Naturalizer Amabella
97.6/100 our score
Style
100
Brand
99
Color
96
Use
95
Versatility
98
Naturalizer Amabella
Why is it better?

Breathable Lining

Padding On Pressure Points

Balanced Heel to Toe

Super Flexible Sole

Shock Absorption

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Naturalizer Amabella
Test Winner: Naturalizer Amabella
Researched Sources
12
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
10994
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
22
Hours Researching
Sorting Options
Style Brand Color Use Versatility By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.6
Style
100%
Brand
99%
Color
96%
Use
95%
Versatility
98%
Price Comparison Last Updated (24.03.19)
$35.55
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95
Style
94%
Brand
100%
Color
93%
Use
91%
Versatility
97%
Price Comparison Last Updated (24.03.19)
$20.00
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.5
Style
94%
Brand
100%
Color
90%
Use
90%
Price Comparison Last Updated (24.03.19)
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.2
Style
92%
Brand
97%
Color
85%
Use
88%
Versatility
99%
Price Comparison Last Updated (24.03.19)
$70.00
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.4
Style
90%
Brand
95%
Color
96%
Use
92%
Versatility
84%
Price Comparison Last Updated (24.03.19)
$99.95
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.2
Style
94%
Brand
90%
Color
84%
Use
86%
Versatility
97%
Price Comparison Last Updated (24.03.19)
$39.87
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.6
Style
95%
Brand
94%
Color
90%
Use
93%
Versatility
76%
Price Comparison Last Updated (24.03.19)
$79.95
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.4
Style
80%
Brand
90%
Color
80%
Use
93%
Versatility
94%
Price Comparison Last Updated (24.03.19)
$42.48
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
76.8
Style
75%
Use
80%
Color
79%
Brand
80%
Versatility
70%
Price Comparison Last Updated (24.03.19)
$110.00
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
70.8
Style
69%
Brand
80%
Color
70%
Use
70%
Versatility
65%
Price Comparison Last Updated (24.03.19)
$37.90
In Depth Review Top 10
  • Naturalizer Amabella
  • Sanuk Yoga Sling 2
  • Sanuk Funky Fiona
  • Dr. Scholls Madison
  • Salomon Speed Cross 4
  • Toms Classic
  • Sorel Tofino
  • Saucony Kineta
  • Muck Boots Hale
  • Vans Authentic
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Other Factors to Consider
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

Top 10 Picks

1. Naturalizer Amabella

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.6
Naturalizer Amabella
Style
100
Brand
99
Color
96
Use
95
Versatility
98
best offer for today
$35.55
Pros:

Breathable Lining

Padding On Pressure Points

Balanced Heel to Toe

Super Flexible Sole

Shock Absorption

Cons:

Straps Not Adjustable

Beautiful should feel good. Naturalizer knows this and embodies this in all their designs. In 1927, they were the first shoe company to make designs specifically engineered to fit women’s feet. They wanted to create a brand that was timeless and tailored to each individual who put them on, embracing unique styles and ideas. They focus on movement, and not constricting the foot or the natural patterns of everyday wear. Naturalizer produces light, flexible, soft, and breathable footwear to inspire people to think differently about what is on their feet. Beauty no longer has to be synonymous with pain and it is high time the fashion industry recognized that.

Read more

The Amabella is a cute two-strap sandal that is reminiscent of the laidback wear of the 60s and 70s. This particular pair of n=Naturalizers has a blue chevron, beautifully executed in a woven pattern that looks similar to a friendship bracelet braiding. Their patented N5 technology is included in these shoes, which has five criteria to ensure a great feel and fit. Including latex foam pads in high impact areas to reduce stress on key areas of the foot, the Amabella is as good for you as an orthopedic sandal but much cuter.

Breathable lining gives you a breezy wear experience, keeping feet as cool and dry as possible. The heel is designed to keep the foot balanced and stable, while not all their heel shapes are the same, each and every one is uniquely designed with weight distribution and support in mind. Ultra-flexible wear tops off this great sandal, and the super light construction will have you running to checkout to get yourself a pair. These are average in pricing, but exceptional in features. Naturalizers are sure to be a new staple for anyone looking for great, personalized comfort.

2. Sanuk Yoga Sling 2

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95
Sanuk Yoga Sling 2
Style
94
Brand
100
Color
93
Use
91
Versatility
97
best offer for today
$20.00
Pros:

Convertible Upper

Yoga Mat Sole

Vegan

Machine Washable

Wrapped Toe Posts

Cons:

No Half Sizes

Sanuk is another shoe based out of Southern California. The region is known for their laidback style and attitude, and these designs are no exception. Innovators behind designs such as the Sidewalk Surfer, often called “not-a-shoes”, Sanuks are in a realm of comfort all their own. Always on the cutting edge of comfort, the Yoga Sling gets its name from the sole, constructed out of a yoga mat. Sanuk is a brand that cares about the world it exists in, and all their shoes are vegan, with the exception of their marked textiles containing wool. Get out and try a pair and you’ll instantly see what all the fuss is about!

Read more

The yoga mat footbed is insanely cushioned, it makes walking effortless and you will feel nearly barefoot when you step out in this Sling. The material won’t let your foot get sweaty and slick, so you won’t get that swampy feeling that some flip-flops cause. Not only is the base flexible, but the upper is even more so! This Yoga Sling has a simple look, but the ways you can wear it are never-ending. Coupled with the classy red and white chevron pattern, there is no stopping any fashionista from rocking these.

With infinite options of style, the convertible fabric upper can be worn a variety of ways, to suit however you’re feeling when you put them on. The upper is ultra soft and stretchy, so it accommodates every size and shape. No more worrying about your bunions in sandals, or your high instep. These can shape to fit any foot. This makes them a universally great option. More durable and made to last much longer than the average flip-flop, the Sanuk Yoga Sling is priced too reasonably to pass up.

3. Sanuk Funky Fiona

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.5
Sanuk Funky Fiona
Style
94
Brand
100
Color
90
Use
90
best offer for today
Pros:

Molded EVA Footbed

Antimicrobial Lining

Drainage Ports

Happy U Rubber Outsole

Gore Insets

Cons:

Spring/Summer Only

Sanuk is featured twice here, and if you try a pair on you will immediately find out why. The company began making shoes from inner tubes and indoor/outdoor carpet and has grown to do so much more. Though they still play around with different materials and innovations, their overarching message is that comfort comes first. If you had any doubts about the shoe's performance due to its lighter than air appearance and feel, they sponsor multiple athletes who exclusively wear their brand. From surfers to rock climbers, Sanuk is there to put great shoes on their feet.

Read more

This moccasin toe slip-on is carefree and wildly fun. It has a jute strap which adds style and gives it a casual appearance. All the cute accents of an espadrille heel with none of the hassle and height! Their high impact EVA footbed is great for those who want to look sweet while exploring the world. Perfect for long walks down the shore, a stroll on the pier, a day at the amusement park, or any host of nice weather activities.

The synthetic and mesh construction dries quickly and keeps feet cool, so you don’t have to worry about these poolside or at the beach.
A Happy U sponge rubber outsole will keep your feet happy as clams when you walk in them. Their gored insets allow for easy slip on and off, as well as some give that allows them to fit your feet closely without squeezing. Their eyelets on the side act as drainage ports for both breathability and water depending on where you wear these. The bright multi-colored chevron is bold and feminine and really makes any outfit pop. The frayed detail adds a sweet element to these affordable summer shoes, and they are an easy way to punch up your basic sundress.

4. Dr. Scholls Madison

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.2
Dr. Scholls Madison
Style
92
Brand
97
Color
85
Use
88
Versatility
99
best offer for today
$70.00
Pros:

Calfskin

Memory Foam Insole

Cooling Insole

Padded Collar

Soft Lining

Cons:

Minimal Arch Support

Most people hear Dr. Scholls and immediately think of their vast array of custom inserts, but they broke out into the shoe game and have already made a big impression. Dr. Scholl was a real-life inventor who had a passion for comfortable feet. He constructed a retro clog, and women fell in love with the effortless style of his first design. Dr. Scholls as a brand is dedicated to making sure your feet feel as good at the end of the day as they feel when you first slip them on. The brand wants a relaxed look, that is still timeless and chic. With shoes like the Madison, that is exactly what they are achieving.

Read more

The Madison is spot on to the slip-on style of sneaker that is trending right now. This chevron is muted, in light pink and cream, with a pink patent accent on the heel. If you’re getting a shoe for comfort and have to choose something that is versatile, look no further. This will match with almost anything, and still has a print that adds some interest to the overall simple style. The collar of the shoe is very padded, so it won’t slide around on your heel and cause discomfort.

The materials on this adorable slip-on are pieced dyed calfskin, and the chevron front coupled with the ballerina pink heel is both eye-catching but muted, a combination that most seek without much luck. Memory foam insoles don’t only contour to support your foot perfectly, but they also have cooling technology so your foot doesn’t get too hot. Rubber sidewalls and sole make this a durable pick to bring home with you. Priced at a similar point to other name brand sneakers, but much more equipped to handle all types of feet, these are guaranteed to please even the pickiest wearer.

5. Salomon Speed Cross 4

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.4
Salomon Speed Cross 4
Style
90
Brand
95
Color
96
Use
92
Versatility
84
best offer for today
$99.95
Pros:

Ortholite Insole

Quicklace

Contagrip

Sensifit

Waterproof

Anti-debris Mesh

Cons:

Runs Small

At Salomon, they want every shoe to be made to withstand even the most vigorous play. In hope that you go out and connect with nature, the brand provides footwear that you can count on when pushing yourself to the limit. They understand our world runs on stress, we are always in a rush, on our way to work, doing everything we need to do, but very little of what we want to do. Not anymore, Salomon wants to bring joy back into the lives of the people wearing their shoes, and open their eyes to the opportunity that awaits them outside their door. Salomon are ready for you, are you ready for them?

Read more
    The Speedcross has a different approach to the zig zag, here we don’t see the basic pattern woven into the shoes upper, but rather a bold application to the body of the shoe itself. This funky performance shoe has their classic speedcross lug pattern, perfect for tearing up soft, technical trails, and keeping your feet in the correct position while running. Their precise foothold guarantees comfort no matter the terrain. These are intended for both training and racing and can hold up to the wettest and muckiest terrain.

    The biomechanical fit on these is considered heel strike, so for a technical runner these are a practical and stylish choice, especially if you run multiple times a week. Though they are super lightweight, they provide a great deal of protection for the foot while trail running, and will give any runner that stable feel on the ground. Water resistance and anti-debris mesh will have these looking good and your feet feeling dry, even after extensive use. This running sneaker is not cheap, but it is extremely high performance and fashion-forward and is ideal for those who need the parameters it offers. This has all the bells and whistles and then some, and any trail runner will instantly fall in love with the Salomon brand after trying these.

6. Toms Classic

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.2
Toms Classic
Style
94
Brand
90
Color
84
Use
86
Versatility
97
best offer for today
$39.87
Pros:

EVA Molded Outsole

V-shaped Elastic Gore

Cotton-twill Antimicrobial Liner

Removable Insole

Improved Traction

Cons:

Very Flat

Toms is a humanitarian brand with humanitarian values. They create jobs for the communities they help, support investments in local economies and infrastructures, and tirelessly provide for places that need it. Their initial pledge to provide a pair of shoes to match every shoe bought has been a great success, and they have since supplied more than 10 million Toms to people all over the world. The company dabbles in multiple charitable causes, but their shoe line still remains their greatest endeavor. Not only are these crazy comfortable, but they do as much good for the world as they do your feet.

Read more

This stitched zigzag pattern is reminiscent of herringbone, its color is slightly tweed-like and the upper of the shoe is complex and interesting. A grayscale may seem boring but it doesn’t have to be when you utilize patterns such as this pair of Toms does. This chevron wool has a black dimpled leather accent on the heel, which makes this versatile enough for work, play, or casual lounging. It all depends on how you choose to dress it. Equipped with their signature elastic gore and Toms logo, these are as easy to wear as they are to spot.

Cotton-twill antimicrobial sock liners make the shoe feel fresh with every wear. The molded removable insole is machine washable, and can be replaced with an insert if you require more support. The EVA rubber outsole flexes with your foot, and is all one piece so there won’t be splitting or breaking apart. These have improved traction from the earlier versions of the Classic Tom. These are slightly higher in price than other shoes of a similar build, but remember, your purchase is being matched by the company to buy a pair for a child in need. Their factory practices are sustainable, and they are investing back into the world that has invested in them. Toms reputation for being ultra cozy doesn’t hurt either.

7. Sorel Tofino

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.6
Sorel Tofino
Style
95
Brand
94
Color
90
Use
93
Versatility
76
best offer for today
$79.95
Pros:

Flexible

Waterproof

Insulated

Sherpa Lined

Rubber Lugs

Cons:

Runs Small

Builders, doers, and creators are the people Sorel want to reach. Founded in Canada in 1962, they have committed to quality craftsmanship. If you want to get outside and get your boots dirty, without affecting their integrity or look, Sorel has got you covered. With sustainable practices and ethical values, you don’t have to worry about where or how your boots are made. Transparency and honesty in company standards can be rare in our current world, so any brand willing to go the extra mile in terms of sustainability doesn’t go unnoticed.

Read more

Neutral colors in gorgeous wool make this earthy chevron a real standout. From the fur trim to the durable base, this is as adorable as it is functional. The profile is still slim despite the warmth and protection it provides, so you can both rock them at the lodge, and venture out into the snow. D-ring eyelets and a lace up shaft give that classic vintage snow boot look, but with an edge. Lo-pile sherpa lines the ultra soft interior, so these feel as comfy as they look.

Rubber lug soles guarantee great traction regardless of terrain, and the insulation and waterproof construction make them a great cold weather pick. Lightweight and flexible, these have an ease of wear that often lacks in snow boots. With leather pull-on tabs for easy on and off, this winter style is functional and fashionable. A pricey option for someone who won’t get wear out of them, but if you don’t need a new boot each year, this is a dependable choice that will outperform many snow boots at the same price point.

8. Saucony Kineta

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.4
Saucony Kineta
Style
80
Brand
90
Color
80
Use
93
Versatility
94
best offer for today
$42.48
Pros:

EVA Midsole

Memory Foam

Breathable Mesh Window

Great Traction

Great for High Arches

Cons:

Half Size Small

Saucony is simple. They believe in running. They believe anyone who can lace a shoe and forget their cares about where and how far they’re going, as well as endure the pain of the run itself, is a true runner. It isn’t about speed or aptitude, but passion and determination. The company focuses on getting people active and engaged, which is something we sometimes all need a push to do. Seasoned athletes and curious beginners alike will fall in love with this straightforward running brand.

Read more

This black and grey chevron is sharp but reserved. For those not fully ready to rock a bright pattern, this is a transitional option to get you out of your comfort zone without going full tilt. The Kineta has a memory foam, molded foot bed, so every step is like you’re walking on air, and it forms perfectly to your foot. The tonal mesh window keeps the shoe light and breezy, and is a nicer contrast to the allover pattern of the shoe.

An EVA foam midsole adds extra flexibility and comfort, in combination with the memory foam this creates a highly cushioned foot environment that you’ll absolutely adore. A modern look with a classic upper design, the profile is recognizable, but updated so you’ll feel on trend. In addition to the aesthetic features, the Kineta has a sole based stability system that keeps your feet firmly planted no matter where you run. Priced lower than most running options, this is a great pick for beginners or those getting back into athletics. You will feel supported and trendy in this black and gray chevron, plus they’re so cushioned you probably won’t want to take them off!

9. Muck Boots Hale

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
76.8
Muck Boots Hale
Style
75
Use
80
Color
79
Brand
80
Versatility
70
best offer for today
$110.00
Pros:

4mm Neoprene

Contoured Footbed

Self Cleaning Outsole

Mesh Temperature Controlled Lining

100% Waterproof

Great Traction

Cons:

Slim in Calf

Over two decades ago, Muck Boots were conceived with a few ideas in mind. They set out to create a boot that was the most protective and comfortable option available on the market. Being a reliable provider of 100 percent waterproof options isn’t always so simple though, however they persisted and are now a household name. Utilizing leather and rubber to their full potential, Muck Boot has created a brand to depend on, and have no qualms about offering a full refund and satisfaction guarantee within the first year of wear.

Read more

This pick, the Hale, is a dark but striking example of chevron’s versatility. Some may associate the pattern with sundresses and springtime tanks, but it transitions beautifully to other times of the year. This blue and purple chevron is hypnotizing, and that effect elongates the leg and slims the calf. A smart accessory to any outfit when braving the elements, this Hale shows your personality without losing durability.

4 millimeters of neoprene do more than just effectively waterproof this boot. With shock absorption and heat retention, these can hold up to any cold weather activity just as well as they can a run of the mill rain storm. The sole adjusts to your foot and its contours, so no more pesky blisters or chafing when you’re in the great outdoors. While these are a pricier option for this list, they are priced equally to most high boots, without the same level of function I might add. With their thorough construction and awesome weatherproof features, these Muck Boots will stand the test of time.

10. Vans Authentic

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
70.8
Vans Authentic
Style
69
Brand
80
Color
70
Use
70
Versatility
65
best offer for today
$37.90
Pros:

Cushioned Sole

Reinforced Eyelets

Waffle Sole

Durable Stitching

True to Size

Cons:

Needs to Break In

In 1966, two brothers by the name of Van Doren came together with a mission in mind. Accompanied by their partners, they opened the Van Doren Rubber Company, and their very first pair is now still a popular style within their brand. Our pick here happens to be that original style. Beginning in Anaheim, California, Vans were quickly adopted by skaters as their go-to shoes, loved for their sticky bottoms and rubber designs. When Vans teamed up with famous Dogtown skaters Tony Alva and Stacy Peralta and released the Era, featuring a padded tongue and collar, they became scene icons.

Read more

Now, Vans still sponsors and adorns skaters all around the world, but their shoes are recognized as sweet streetwear for even those who couldn’t last a minute on a board. Though Vans checkerboard pattern may be more recognizable, this sweet black and blue zig zag is an electric print with a look all its own. Still utilizing Vans signature waffle outsoles, these will grip any surface with ease, so no slips or spills. Their slim profile makes them a great spring or summer shoe but can be worn year-round to show off a style as unique as you.

The low top lace-up starts midway up the shoe like an oxford, but it is made in a color and material that makes it super casual and cool. Vans ensure every upper is incredibly durable to be prepared for anything, anywhere. Take this Southern Cali look with you on a first date or the first day of school, and you’ll turn heads. They have a cushioned but firm sole and their outsole is raised to prevent against the fabric upper pulling against the sole. This print was a limited run so they are also insanely affordable. A great addition to any sneaker fan’s collection.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Style

Obviously when talking about trends style is going to be a huge factor. From bold chevron to muted zigzags, we want our shoes to stand out in a chic way. Most people fear looking tacky when incorporating new prints into their wardrobe, so we managed to just avoid that all together.

This list is full of super accessible chevron that won't make you feel out of place or awkward while wearing it. We want you to feel cool and confident, not dissatisfied with your final look! So, how can we get to a place where you feel as awesome as this style print looks? It is simple.

By utilizing familiar elements of style and incorporating our new eye-catching chevron, we are easing into a whole new world of fashion. Prints can be intimidating at first, no one wants their outfit to look too busy. Well have no fear, here we have come to ensure that the only thing that is busy is your feet tearing up the floor of anywhere you're rocking your new shoes.

Brand

If we are going to be realistic, anyone can make a zigzag shoe. When shopping, we can see hoards of printed options for every budget. Low price doesn't always mean good value though, unfortunately.

We chose shoes from brands we love, and brands that are well loved by our readers as well. We don't want you trying out a new style only to have it fall apart on you days later. We want you to have a lasting addition to your awesome fashion sense.

With picks from our favorites like Vans, Sanuk, and even Sorel, there is a perfect fit for every reader. What matters is the quality, as always, the print is just an added bonus.

Color

Not to be rude, but I think we have all seen the same wild neon zig zags of yesteryear adorning everything from dresses the school supplies. While there is nothing wrong with loud chevron patterns, they really aren't practical to incorporate into most people's closets.

Our picks span a large palette. We have neutral boots, pastel casual slip-ons, and two-tone sling sandals. Whatever your favorite color is, it is probably covered by a tone here. Chevron can work however you want it to work for you, but there are some colors that are easier to wear then others, and we covered the bases on those here.

Use

You might have noticed this list spans all climates. That is for a reason. Here at Nicer Shoes, we know our readers come from all over the globe, and we want to make sure we have inclusive options for everyone.

Incorporating chevron is easy, but if we were to put all summer shoes on our list, that would severely limit those who get to actually do that. While there are other means to find recommendations or pick shoes, we want our readers to have the best, so we take care in choosing a wide array to accommodate them, instead of them having to search for someone else who will.

If you're in Canada braving the cold, or Southern California catching waves, there is a zigzag shoe perfectly meant for you. Shoe shopping should be fun, and it isn't as fun when you aren't finding anything that suits your needs. We want to help everyone find their perfect pair.

Versatility

Chevron is already so versatile, but it can sometimes not quite fit due to pattern size, color, or placement. We didn't want to show you 10 of the same exact patterns on a list. How incredibly boring would that be?

We know every wardrobe is different, So these picks are intended to fit a whole slew of them. The Salomon running sneakers are colorful, with a sharp zigzag accent on both sides of the shoe. This isn't a print, but rather an additional eye-catching style executed in a fun and sporty way.

Dr. Scholl is so subtle. The taupe and pink of the upper are set off by the soft calfskin it is made from. This slip-on will go with absolutely everything. Utilizing pinks new neutral status in a unique and classy way. The possibilities are really endless. The Toms Classic is the same way, it has an almost tweed appearance that would work at the office, or complimenting your favorite little black dress.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Style
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Brand
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Keep Your Color Fresh

Make sure you invest in a good cleaning solution for your shoes that is color-friendly. Patterns are especially prone to fading! It also may be in your best interest to buy an anti-fade spray to keep them looking fresh.

Get A Little Funky!

Patterns aren't just matched with solids, anymore! Jazz it up by pairing your chevron shoes with various other patterns. As long as you keep a color scheme and don't make it too loud, you should be good to go!

Other Factors to Consider

Bottom Line

Chevron is a great way to incorporate an interesting new visual texture into your look. Whether it is on a pair of ultra comfy and funky sandals, or muted on a super cute lodge boot, you can achieve any accent you want with this versatile print. Gone are the days of having to rely on stripes or polka dots alone for a pattern that can be worn professionally and playfully.

You could be braving the cold in our Sorel or Muck Boot option, or hanging loose in either of our Sanuk picks, either way you’re doing it in sleek style. As easy to wear as it is to love, chevron punches up your outfit without clashing or looking out of place. The shoes here feel as great as you will when you try out this print for the first time. Zig zags are in your future, and all you have to do is make your pick of how they will appear.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: How can I add chevron pieces into my wardrobe?
a:

We made it super easy by making a list that consists of every day styles featuring the print. You can add it in first in accessories, and once you are comfortable coordinating the colors or using it as an accent, you can bring bigger pieces to wear home with you.

q: How is chevron different than herringbone?
a:

The herringbone patterned is named for its resembleance to the herring fish's bones. It is generally smaller and going in opposite directions of itself. Herringbone is generally what inspires the patterns for the laying of tiles and bricks! It is far more recognizable to us than we even realize. Chevron can go in any direction, in any size. It just refers to the simple V shape within the zig zag pattern.

q: When did chevron first make its way into fashion?
a:

You could date it as far back as 1800 BC, when chevron was used on banners and shields.

q: What can I wear this print with?
a:

If you're bold enough, practically anything. While many shy away from mixing prints, chevron is a pattern that goes well accenting other more delicate ones, like a soft floral. Personally, I am a big fan of chevron paired with a color picked from its sequence. For example, if you are wearing a green, yellow, and black zig zag print, I would either pair it as an accent to a basic black outfit, or use it to tie together accessories that are close in color to the other stripes.

q: Is it called zig zag or chevron?
a:

It may seem confusing to go back and forth in how we refer to this print, but the explanation is simple. Like i said before, the chevron refers to just one link in the pattern. Technically a chevron is the sideways V on a converse one star shoe. So saying chevron or zig zag interchangably is fine when talking about repeated prints.

Sources

  1. The Active Times, Best Running Shoe Brands, Listicle,
  2. Kirsten Nunez, What is Chevron Print?, Informational,
  3. Brahms Mount, Herringbone Vs. Chevron, Opinion,
  4. 1502 Fabrics, The History of Chevron, Informational,
  5. Kori Ellis, Ways to Wear Chevron, Blog,